Hair Care for Curly Hair

IMG_3496I have really curly hair and I have always had a hard time down packing a routine. I do not use a blow dryer because it makes my hair frizzy and damages my ends. I have been air drying my hair for over 6 years now and recently I have started letting my hair dry in a t-shirt to help form my curls. This is a trick that I absolutely love. If you have naturally curly hair you don’t even have to put anything in it, just scrunch your curls up and wrap your hair in a t-shirt. My curls are usually curly for the first day after washing before brushing my hair and then they turn wavy with the underneath staying curly. I have tried many products.

IMG_3506 The one I love most is the DevaCurl Ultra Defining Gel which I scrunch into my hair to help form my curls. Before I use that though I always prep my hair. I use Schwarzkopf BC Repair Rescue Sealed Ends and then I will usually put a hair oil or treatment in my hair and brush that all through. Right now my favourites are the Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil, Eva-Nyc Mane Magic 10-in-1 Primer, and It Haircare 12-in-1 Leave in Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil. My hair is thick so I find I need a lot of product. A little only goes so far. Some times I also seal everything in after the DevaCurl with my Bumble and Bumble Surf Foam Spray which is in between a mouse and a sea salt spray. It leaves my hair feeling soft and helps tame some of my frizz. This is more for if I am going outside after I take my hair out of the t-shirt and I know it may be windy outside. I have also used this product on its own (after my sealed ends) and it works great if I am just going to a beachy carefree look.

 

Leave a Reply

