Switching Go-To Brands

Have any of you ever been fully dedicated to a makeup brand that every time you need something you just go for that product? That’s how I felt about Covergirl concealer and pressed powder. It’s always worked well for me and it’s cheap enough for me to not hesitate to buy new essentials when I’m running low. I’m fairly certain it was the first brand I ever used for concealer and pressed powder and I never questioned it. That is, until my best friend showed me her favourite go-to brand.

Rose loves Physician’s Formula, and she’s been using it for years. When my Covergirl pressed powder ran out and it was time to buy a new one, I was heading straight for the Covergirl section when out of the corner of my eye I saw a large metalic blue portion of the wall named Physician’s Formula. I asked the retail ladies if they had any experience with the brand, and they said it was very good, and almost laughed when I told them that I had been using Covergirl up until then.

I ended up buying their pressed powder and concealer, knowing that my concealer was near the tail end of it’s life, as well. I took it home and started using both every day.

The women at the counter were right, it covers everything and evens out my face, but at a price. I broke out more than I ever have before, which results in me using more of these products at a time, and more face cleansers at night. It also cost more than Covergirl. Covergirl pressed powder is $7.97, while Physician’s Formula is $18.66. I remember that the concealer didn’t have much of a price difference, however I was unable to find the exact Physician’s Formula concealer stick, but the Covergirl concealer is $6.14.

While I’m using the products, they’re nice, and they do their job, however Covergirl is just as good. I’ll be making the switch back once my current makeup runs out. And if a lady behind a counter ever laughs at you because your makeup choice is “inferior”, who cares? Everyone’s face and skin is different, and prefers different brands. I’m sure many people love Physician’s Formula, and same for Covergirl. I know Rose would never change to Covergirl, but her skin is very different from mine.

So try new things, love and hate them, and in the end you’ll know what you and your skin like best.

 

Leave a Reply

