Summer Essentials!

Summer is here and it seems to get hotter by the day so here are my summer essentials!

Sunscreen

I know what everyone is thinking “Obviously Michaela”but I can’t stress how important protect your skin from the UV Rays. I hate the feeling of sunscreen but once I found a sunscreen that smelt nice I found it didn’t bother me so much. My personal favourite is Sun Bum!

Pro Tip: If you burn easily (like I do) I suggest buying a bottle of aloe vera gel and keep it in the fridge or put it in ice cube trays to freeze, it feels amazing on burns!

BB Cream

Honestly BB Cream is the most important thing to me because in the summer I do not want to be wearing foundation so having a BB Cream makes it so I can even out my complexion but also be protected from the sun as most BB Creams have SPF in them! My BB Cream of choice for the past few summers has been the Rimmel London BB Cream in Light.

Oil Blotting Sheets

I won’t lie, I sweat a lot in the summer. I work in a summer program where we are outside more than we are inside so naturally in the 35 degree weather I’m going to need to blot my face. My 2 favourites are the Palladio Rice Paper Oil-Absorbing Blotting Tissues with rice powder and the Neutrogena Deep Clean Shine Control Blotting Sheets.

Setting Spray

With summer time comes open patios where you eat and drink and of course, sit in the sun so it’s necessary to have a setting spray in your life. During the winter I rarely set my makeup because it doesn’t go anywhere but in the summer I spray my face daily! My favourite setting spray to date is the NYX Matter Finish Long Lasting Setting Spray.

Face Masks

While face masks are a necessity all year round, I find myself reaching for them more in the summer time. I love the feeling of refreshed and clean skin and masks are the perfect way to achieve that. I’ve recently been loving the Life Brand masks from Shopper’s drug mart.

Deodorant: 

I can’t stress this enough please wear deodorant. I’m not trying to be rude but it’s hot out and you are going to sweat, always have deodorant!

4 thoughts on “Summer Essentials!

    • michaela kathleen says:

      Hi there! I’ve tried an Urban Decay setting spray (I believe it was the de-slick one) and honestly I love both however the UD does keep your makeup on longer than the NYX however I find the NYX one sets better, hope that helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

