Dreamy Velvet Foundation

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset 

Maybelline NewYork’s new(er) Dream Velvet Foundation is one of those products that is just so cute you have to try it. I have always stayed away from buying drugstore foundations because A) my skin is very light and it’s hard for me to find an exact match and B) I have a hard time trusting drugstore brands because I don’t want to waste my money on something that is not being picked out by a beauty expert for me. However, when I saw this product on sale all bets were off and I decided to get the lightest shade (05 Warm Porcelain) and just hope for the best.

This foundation is a bit darker than my skin (sad really), it is a little noticeable so I didn’t bother contouring my face or using bronzer and I left my hair down so that no one would see the line. However, the foundation its self is really good for a drugstore brand. It’s a thicker, gel-mouse formula that provides full coverage when only using a little of the product. So if you can find your exact match than this product is perfect. I did find that it was a little caky going on by honestly as long as you know how to blend out your foundation then there is no problem with this product.

This foundation is more ideal for oily-normal skin, and is great at covering up imperfections. Because this foundation is heavier I would not recommend wearing it during the summer because it may be easily sweater off and run. This product would be best for Autumn and Winter when products are not as likely to be sweated off or feel to heavy on the face. For summer I don’t like wearing anything on my face just because my skin gets so oily (especially when it’s hot outside) and my skin tends to absorb dirt into my pours more during the summer, causing more breakouts.

I don’t know if I would buy this foundation again just because I like trying new products and I would rather get an exact match than settle for something that’s just slightly to dark for my skin. However I do like this formula so once Fall comes around I will probably use this product more. I don’t remember how much I paid for this product but it was roughly $10 CAD. which is a usual price for Maybelline foundations. Overall I would give this foundation a 3.5-4 stars. I have used better products but this is definitely the best drugstore foundation I have tried and have actually worn on my face out in public.

Leave a Reply

