BirchBox February 2016

I recently subscribed to BirchBox, which is a monthly subscription service that sends a box of 4 to 5 items of beauty related products so very simple to Ipsy. Since the Canadian dollar is so low right now BirchBox has suspended their current services for Canada so this is the only box I will be receiving and from my first impression of the box, I’m not too torn up about it.

12765656_10205625382098187_585984813_o

Naobay HydeaPlus Cream ($43)

 

Product Description: This boosts moisture levels in the skin with a combination of sage extract, olive oil, aloe vera and chamomile.

First Impression: At first glance it looks like your average cream so nothing really jumped out at me. It smells like a cream my great grandmother used when I was younger, a mixture between oil (not necessarily olive) and aloe vera. It’s not an unpleasant smell but it certainly isn’t my favourite. The creams leaves your skin feeling tacky and not smooth once it’s rubbed in. I have eczema and I found this cream irritated my skin a bit, not too much but enough to notice.

12765649_10205625382178189_2018429866_o Number 4 Fluoro Elixer Restore & Repair Oil ($30)

Product Description: This strand-saving elixer gives drab, dull hair a coveted movie star shine.

First Impression: I am actually very excited for this product. I love getting new things to try on my hair and this is no exception. It has a nice scent (floral maybe? I can’t really explain it) which stays with your hair and gives your hair a really nice shine. I have purple, pink and blue in my hair and this product made the colours more vibrant so I would say this is a huge win for me but I’m not sure if I would use it on my roots just because of how shinny and I’m scared it will look greasy.

12765688_10205625382258191_821095614_o

CLEAN White Woods Eau de Parfum ($44-79)

Product Description: Top notes of bergamot, mandarin, and black pepper are followed by notes of magnolia, lily and vanilla orchard.

First Impression: Ok I’m not going to lie; I am very picky about perfumes and this one was no exception. I didn’t think I’d like it from the product description and while it isn’t the worst perfume, it’s not something I would pick out for myself. Also a little goes a long way, this perfume is very strong.

12787442_10205625382458196_71098337_oObsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar -Black Metal Dahlia ($18)

Product Description: Apply the tiniest bead of this cruelty-free, cult favourite liquid lipstick to lips for matte, opaque coverage.

First Impression: This is the product I picked for my birchbox and I’m in love (I clearly made the right choice!). The colour is beautiful (although very dark) however because it’s in a test tube it isn’t easy to apply and it makes more of a mess than anything but I do love the product and I’ll just have to use a lip brush to apply it.

12773307_10205625382538198_1312867384_o Cynthia Rowley Beauty Black Eyeliner ($18)

Product Description: A luxe, creamy liner from the NYC-based designer for smudge proof, all-day wear.

First Impression: love this eyeliner! I have said it time and time again I am not an eyeliner person (simply because I don’t have the patience) but this eyeliner is amazing and I can’t wait to start wearing it! It’s creamy and it’s the blackest eyeliner I have ever had! I love how creamy it is and that it’s long wear (no joke I swatched in on my wrist and then had a shower and had to scrub it off that’s how good it is!). This is defiantly my favourite product out of the whole box!

Final Impression: I honestly wasn’t too impressed with BirchBox this month. I was expecting more because of all the good things I heard about them but alas that’s life. I do really love the eyeliner and the repair hair oil so it wasn’t a complete loss.

 

One thought on “BirchBox February 2016

  1. I was gifted a 3 month subscription to Birchbox for Christmas so I was so disappointed when I found out they were stopping it for Canada because it meant I was missing out on my third box 😕 Then when my package arrived one of the products had completely emptied and my box was covered in this tacky hair serum. Thankfully Birchbox’s customer service was quick to respond (the next morning) and right away sent me a new box. The products were okay, but nothing amazing considering everything except one thing (the lip tar) I hadn’t checked off to sample. All in all, I have to agree with you, and say that I probably wouldn’t have continued after my third box. Great review though! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

