City Color Eyeshadow Trio Review

Along with everyone else who runs this blog, I subscribe to ipsy. In my ipsy bag last month, I received a new eyeshadow palette, the City Color Eyeshadow Trio in the colour Falling Leaves. It’s 3 colours, a dark copper, a dark pinkish brown, and a sparkly rose gold colour. I was very excited when I got it in my bag because I love browns, beiges, and pinks.

1

The trio also comes in another colour, Blooming Flowers. It has a purple colour, a very light pinkish purple, and maroon. They sell for $5.99 on their website, and come in a compact a little smaller than two inches in diameter.

I tried the dark pink colour first. It was very dark, and went on very thick. I am usually able to blend as I put my eyeshadow on, however this eyeshadow was difficult to blend. I wiped off the pink, and applied the rose gold. It also went on very thick, however it was more translucent than the dark pink so the fact that I had not properly blended it was not very noticeable. I later attempted the dark copper colour, and was not surprised when it, also, went on very thick and was extremely dark.

2

I really did not like this palette. It was just too dark and too thick of a powder. It wouldn’t blend very well, so it looks more like a large polka dot on my eye when I wear the darker colours, and the dark pink colour made me look like I had a black eye.

I will not be purchasing this anytime soon, and I would not suggest it to anyone else. Not only for the fact that I really don’t like the colours and the quality, but also that after paying $5.99 you may think it’s cheap, but then you see the shipping. It costs $12.95 for USPS and $24.95 for UPS. Keep in mind that I am in Canada, but that is a lot for shipping for such a small item that would be sent in the smallest size available for a padded envelope.

2 thoughts on “City Color Eyeshadow Trio Review

Leave a Reply

